What? Like It’s Hard?

While I’m driving to and from work on the weekends and whenever I am getting ready for the day, I’m usually listening to a podcast. I’ve gotten really into them in the last few months and one of the podcasts I listen to is Young House Love Has a Podcast. YHL is so great–I have one of their books + I’ve enjoyed the blog and listening to them even more since purchasing our home. Today, I was listening to their episode featuring Ana White and it totally inspired me!

Ana White is a cool lady who lives in Alaska with her family and runs a website that provides free building plans for basically any piece of furniture you can think of. I loved hearing Ana tell her story about how she just decided to start learning how to use power tools and figuring out how to make the things she couldn’t buy. I mean, why not?! It really made me think, “Wow, I could totally build stuff too!” While looking through her website, I realized I had seen a few of her pieces on Pinterest. No surprise there! Guys, there are SO many cool things to build on her site and I’ve already pinned a few plans.

There are so many pieces of furniture that I’d like for our house but we just don’t have the money to buy. I sent Daniel a text once I got to work and told him that building furniture for our house was going to be our new hobby together. haha  How fun is that? It’s something I want to learn as well as something I think I’d enjoy and it’s right up Daniel’s alley! Here are some of the pieces I’m thinking about for our first projects:

bookcase

  1. I have a LOT of books and would love a nice big bookcase to house them all!

2x2-console-west-elm-desk-3

2. I am currently using our dining room table as a place to keep my laptop, my planner, etc. and our printer floats from room to room. I would really like to have a designated space for all of that! This desk would likely go in our guest room upstairs.

table

3. My dream is to have an awesome and beautiful farmhouse style dining room table with bench seating on one side and pretty chairs for the other sides. Not sure of the stain as of yet but I’m really liking this style!

helping-tower-kitchen-learn

4. Andie LOVES to help. If there’s anything at all she can help with, she’s all about it and that’s why I think this Little Helper Tower would be PERFECT for her. This gets your toddler at counter level so they can help mommy & daddy and you don’t have to worry about them falling off a stool or anything!

Check out http://www.ana-white.com and you’ll see these plans as well as thousands of others 🙂

 

 

Leave a Comment

