Whole 30 – Week 2

We hit week 2 on Saturday, the 14th and well, we cheated. So hard. 😦 We went out of town for our nephew’s first birthday party and we caved. Definitely not ideal BUT I don’t regret it and I’ll tell you why:

I didn’t feel good the next morning. I woke up with a tummy ache and I immediately knew it was because of all I had consumed the day before! I think that was a great lesson and a way for me to physically understand the effects certain foods can have on my body. Since we’ve been home, I’m back at it!

During week 2 we tried spaghetti squash for the first time and it was awesome. My parents found 2 huge ones at the commissary and bought them for us so we tried them out the following night. I found a great way to cook them via a pin I discovered on Pinterest and was able to make cook the squash in 15 minutes in the microwave! Super fast and ideal for families. I used Trader Joe’s Puttanesca Sauce and Bilinski’s Organic Mild Italian Chicken Sausage (found at Whole Foods) on top for a great spaghetti meal! Daniel wasn’t a huge fan of the sauce because it had a bold olive flavor to it (he’s not the biggest olive fan) but I really liked it. And it kept my husband full! Yay!

IMG_6797 IMG_6823 IMG_6833

Because we’re part Italian, we still miss pasta but the spaghetti squash is a great substitute that I wouldn’t mind continuing to use after Whole 30!

I forgot to take photos of my food this past week but most of what we ate was easy to prepare meals! We had our favorite sausage and zucchini skilletΒ Β again, I made a chicken dish called Tuesday Night Chicken that I had made before the program which is pretty tasty, Greek style chicken with cherry tomatoes, and we’ve been eating lots of sweet potatoes. Breakfast still consists of eggs every morning but I try to switch around my sides and/or add-ins so I don’t get too bored–avocado, strawberries, tomatoes, turkey meat, etc.

On an end note, Daniel has decided not to continue with the program BUT he’ll be eating all meals I make so he’s kinda half doing it haha For example, the meal I made tonight as part of our week 3, a taco skillet, was eaten by both of us except where I had romaine lettuce, he had rice. I don’t think its going to be difficult moving forward with him adding some things back in that I can’t eat because we’re essentially still eating the same thing for the most part! Wish me luck!

2 thoughts on “Whole 30 – Week 2

    • It’s pretty good and it makes a good amount! The sausage was good but I think I still prefer Aidell’s – I need to find some other flavor variations to try! πŸ™‚

Leave a Comment

