Whole 30 – Week 1

We are at the end of day #7 of our Whole 30 challenge! WHEW! It’s been difficult but we’re doing it and I’m so proud of us.

whole 30 week 1 timeline

Above is a timeline graphic that can be found on the Whole 30 website about what you can expect (aka common occurrences / everyone’s experience differs in some way) during your first week of the program. I gotta say, it’s pretty accurate! Day 1 was exciting and seemed pretty easy. I did however, make the mistake of waiting to go grocery shopping until Day 1 which I don’t recommend. This meant I had a crappy breakfast albeit Whole 30 compliant. Don’t make this mistake–go grocery shopping the day before!!

On Day 2 Daniel and I both had headaches that lasted all day. It wasn’t a terrible pounding headache but just sort of a dull ache that lasted the entire day. One good thing about Day 2–we discovered our favorite meal. As in, we’ve had it about 4 times this week. Haha!

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

BEHOLD. The Sausage & Zucchini Skillet! This is incredibly easy, quick, and so delicious. I found this recipe on Pinterest and the only thing I changed was the kind of sausage it asked for–I used Aidell’s Chicken & Apple Sausage instead of the suggested smoked sausage (Aidell’s is Whole 30 compliant – no added sugars as it uses fruit juice for sweetener!). It’s so tasty and has a little spice to it too. If I didn’t have to share with my husband, I could probably eat this entire skillet by myself for one meal….lol

In the days since Day 2, I have felt a little bit more irritable than usual but nothing extraordinary. I haven’t felt excessively tired either which is great and surprising since I have a toddler who is also now down to 1 nap a day (insert wide eyed emoji here)!

Daniel has had a little bit of a different experience his first week–he’s really been struggling to feel full. He tells me that he’s constantly hungry and I can only cook so much. If you don’t know my husband, he is very slim–always has been–with a very fast metabolism and I think that has a lot to do with it compounded with the types of food we are eating now. In addition, he works the late shift not getting home until around 3 in the morning so when he’s eaten his dinner early in the night, it’s hard to go out somewhere quick to find something Whole 30 compliant later on when he’s hungry again. If anyone has some tips for shift workers, specifically late night shift workers, and how to accommodate with having to cook two dinners…I’m all ears!!

I’ve made a few recipes we’ve liked but I eat a lot of big salads (Daniel isn’t really into salads so he’ll have something different) and we both have eggs every morning. Below are a few pictures of what I ate this week!

Scrambled eggs cooked in coconut oil with 1 avocado seasoned with just salt & pepper

Scrambled eggs cooked in coconut oil with 1 avocado seasoned with just salt & pepper

Mexican Stir Fry served over mashed sweet potatoes

Mexican Stir Fry served over mashed sweet potatoes

Large salad with romaine lettuce, half of an avocado, canned tuna, grape tomatoes, shredded carrots, cucumbers and dressed in olive oil & balsamic vinegar

Large salad with romaine lettuce, half of an avocado, canned tuna, grape tomatoes, shredded carrots, cucumbers and dressed in olive oil & balsamic vinegar (after photo was taken)

We’ve been really excited about how healthy our meals have been. Daniel’s exact words after I went grocery shopping: “Ya know, I was a little iffy about this whole thing but when you came home with the groceries I got excited seeing how healthy it all was.” YAY! I know this sounds like we strictly ate junk before this (we didn’t) but we were definitely not eating as well as we should have been. Because of the way our family life is and how it revolves around not only our toddler but my husband’s work schedule, we have become a family dependent on convenience. After a long day of work or being momma with no breaks, there’s so many times where neither of us wanted to cook or anything–enter Digiorno’s pizzas, Wendy’s, etc. While I think those things are ok in moderation, we were closely crossing the line of those things becoming staples and that’s not good.

I will also be completely honest in saying that while I do enjoy cooking and making awesome meals for my family, I don’t enjoy doing it 3 times a day, every day. I just don’t. It’s a lot and some days it feels like that’s all I do besides other typical things. Maybe I need a prep system in place for the week but it’s hard for me to plan every single meal out for the entire week because things happen, things change, and that would throw everything off! I’ll let you know if I come up with something that helps me in this area!

As of right now, I don’t feel any different physically but I expect that will come later on. Today was one of our first days of being in the face of temptation: we went to a birthday party for our friends’ daughter who just turned 1 and there were so many yummy things that we couldn’t have. 😦 Next weekend we have another birthday party for our nephew and I’m sure there’ll be temptation again but I’m proud of myself and Daniel for resisting and showing will power.

On to week 2!!

3 thoughts on “Whole 30 – Week 1

    • Haha yea sometimes l kick myself for doing this right now but in all honesty, something is always probably going to come up where I will have to show some will power so I figured why not! Haha

  1. Way to go! I haven’t heard of the Whole 30 program before, but I’m going to look into it. My husband and I have also recently decided we need to get back on track with healthier eating, I think a program to follow would be very helpful.

Leave a Comment

