22 Weeks

IMG_3575

Everyone always comments on Andie’s toes in her pictures because they’re always flexed or pointed–too funny! Not sure why she does that but for the most part, the entire lower half of her body is in constant motion unless she’s asleep. Haha! On Tuesday, this little girl turned 5 months old. FIVE MONTHS. She’s getting so big! Next month will already be her half birthday–I think I’m going to make some cupcakes to celebrate her being halfway to 1 and for us making it 6 months as parents πŸ˜‰

photo 1 photo 2

Not only did Andie turn 5 months old on Tuesday, we also had her second head scan to see if any improvement had been made. Daniel and I went in feeling optimistic because we at least knew the flat spot on the back left of her head was gone. The pictures above are from the head scan–she has to have a little “sock” put on her head and little stickers next to each ear. She looks so funny but so freaking adorable haha Anyways, the scan was done and the Orthotist used the newest scan to compare to the first one we had done. Unfortunately, it showed that Andie hadn’t really made any improvement 😦 On certain levels, she had improved a little bit but not enough to where we felt that she would improve enough even in the next month to put off or even decide that she wouldn’t need a helmet. So….helmet it is.

We aren’t as worried about the back of her head as we are about the front. The bulging out on the front left causes some asymmetry in her face and if we don’t do anything about it, it could get worse and we’d never forgive ourselves (nor do I think Andie would later on in life!). The good thing is that we are going to have her in the helmet before she’s 6 months old (that’s typically when babies start wearing one) and because of that, I’m hoping that’ll mean she won’t have to wear it as long! She’ll be wearing it every day, 21 hours a day and they are supposed to give us a wearing schedule so we have a good idea of when to do her helmet breaks(she’s supposed to have three 1 hour breaks each day). According to the Orthotist, we’re looking at her wearing the helmet until 11 – 12 months of age(typical for all babies who have a helmet) but the last 2 months or so she will only be wearing it at night while she sleeps.

The helmet–in light pink–has already been ordered so we’re looking at probably the first week of November for Andie to start wearing it. Andie is going to look cute no matter what because she’s already such a cutie but I think Daniel and I are both worried about other people’s reactions. It sounds silly and trivial but I have read other parents’ accounts of rude things people have said to them or just the staring. I don’t want people to think that I just left my child lying on her back all the time and that’s why she’s wearing a helmet or something else awful you know? That’s another reason it’s been kind of annoying to me to hear “Don’t stress/worry about it” in regards to the entire situation–it’s easy to say that when you aren’t the one dealing with it isn’t it? I’ll never say that phrase to anyone again! Also, and this is incredibly superficial, Daniel and I are really bummed Andie won’t really be able to wear all these cute beanies we wanted to buy for her or headbands 😦

Anyways, that’s where we’re at so in another week or so, you’ll start seeing photos of Andie with a new accessory!

Andie is still doing great with rolling–as soon as we place her on the floor, she’s moving. We’re trying to get her rolling to the right a lot more and not just to the left per our PT’s instructions and she’s doing well with that too! We’ve also been working on sitting and helping her really engage her core muscles–she can sit unassisted for a few seconds at a time now!! So cool! Andie’s also been really pushing up and fully extending her arms while on her tummy as well! Another major step towards crawling! Because she’s doing so much better with her core and neck muscles, she’s able to enjoy playing in the exercauser which is AWESOME. Another thing to keep her busy is great. I’ve come to realize that Andie is aΒ veryΒ active little girl–I have to constantly be entertaining her in some way–she’s not content just sitting or laying there EVER unless she’s getting a little tired in which case she’ll sit on my lap and chew on her cat rattle very quietly for a little while.

IMG_3526

photo 2

Sleep still completely sucks. Somehow the stars aligned and she slept through the night last Friday but hasn’t done it since 😦 I believe we’re out of the sleep regression and just dealing with teething now….ugh. Andie is pretty much waking every 2 hours and I nurse her each time. So. Tired. However, last night she slept from 9:20 PM to 4:15 AM, fed her, put her back down, she woke up again at about 6:30 and after I fed her I just kept her in bed with us and we slept until 8:15! Much better night last night but I don’t let myself get too optimistic or excited about the good nights just yet because of her track record as of late. Praying we’ll see a consistent difference soon!!

Also, it seems her spit up/acid reflux situation has gotten a lot better with age. I’ve successfully been able to add dairy as well as caffeine back into my diet (hallelujah!) without any problems! I’m still too afraid to start experimenting with tomato or citrus based stuff….maybe as she gets a little older….but it’s a start and I’m happy with it! Things will also continue to get better as we start her on solid foods (next month!! YAY!) so I might start trying around then. Daniel watched Andie while I went out to the mall for a couple hours the other day and I bought a recipe book for baby food that I’ve had my eye on for a while. My mother-in-law also purchased a baby food maker for us which she’ll be bringing up with her when she visits soon. I’ll just need some storage for the food and then we’ll be set to start introducing solids! We’re thinking of starting with sweet potatoes first which will be perfect because we’re starting solids right around Thanksgiving πŸ™‚ Can’t wait!

IMG_3507 IMG_3535 IMG_3553 IMG_3570

2 thoughts on “22 Weeks

  1. Love that you can see the “due date: waiting on baby” chalkboard in the background of the excersaucer shot! πŸ˜€ And suddenly our babies are 5 months old. INSANE, because I know my due date was like…YESTERDAY!

    I hope somehow you’ll miraculously be spared from other people’s stupid comments and strange looks. Sometimes people are jerks. Andie is so super sweet and cute, though, so hopefully people will see that instead. You’ll have to get some headbands that fit OVER the helmet! πŸ™‚

    As you said, better to get it worked on and taken care of now than to have regrets later in life! She will surely thank you someday! πŸ™‚ You rock, mama!

    Andie has the cutest outfits, too! Squee!

    • Thanks so much Sarah! I’m hoping our outings in public will be fine too and that people’s focus won’t entirely be on her little helmet.

      I keep saying I’m going to erase that chalkboard and do something else but I can’t bring myself to do it just yet! Haha 5 months has flown by SO incredibly fast!!

Leave a Comment

