11 Weeks

photo

11 weeks old! It is so hard to believe how fast time is flying by.  It’s also hard to believe that I’ve been breastfeeding for that long as well! It’s World Breastfeeding Week so I’ve been kind of reflecting on my experience. In the beginning, I couldn’t imagine going just a couple of weeks because of the pain and frequency. Then it got even harder when I had to cut pretty much all of my favorite things from my diet in order to help alleviate Andie’s reflux. Here we are today and I’m not going to lie, it is still hard. I daydream about the day when I won’t have to breastfeed anymore and while I freely admit that, it doesn’t mean I don’t feel guilty about feeling that way. Breastfeeding is supposed to be this thing that moms love and enjoy but I just don’t have that feeling about it. Maybe it has to do with how rough it was in the beginning? Or maybe the fact that Andie has reflux? I don’t know. It’s hard to imagine a day when I won’t have a baby attached to my boob several times a day! I plan on feeding Andie breast milk until she’s a year old but I’m not sure how long I will do it via breast as opposed to the bottle. I’m dreading the day she gets teeth…..ouch! haha There is one moment that I do like about breastfeeding and that is when I look down at Andie and when her eyes meet mine, she gives me the biggest smile. It truly is very sweet 🙂

Until Andie’s reflux is gone, I have to cut dairy, tomato & citrus based things, garlic, anything remotely spicy, and anything with too many spices. SO. HARD. Especially for a girl who loooooooves spaghetti. and pizza. and cheese. Pretty much all of my favorite foods are a big no-no right now 😦 The day that I can eat regularly, I am going to have a HUGE plate of my dad’s spaghetti with a ton of parmesan cheese on top. Until then, I will just dream about it! Anyone have some great recipes that don’t require any of the things I have to cut out? I already have a book of Paleo recipes that I can pick and choose some things out of (I have to pick and choose because some of it has spices I can’t eat)!

This past week, Andie has been doing so good with tummy time!! She typically hates it and would only tolerate it for a minute at the most but all of a sudden she started lifting her head even higher and pushing up on her arms! It was so amazing to watch! Now she will tolerate being on her tummy for a few minutes but not anymore than that. We are so proud of her. She’s been able to hold her head up while we hold her since the day she was born–I’m not joking! Our whole family can tell you; we all couldn’t get over that while we were in the hospital. Her muscles are getting stronger and stronger! We’ve also noticed that while on her tummy, she’s been moving her legs to where it looks like she’s about to push herself over on her side. I think it’s only a matter of time before she rolls over! Yay!

Another great highlight from this past week was Andie sleeping TEN HOURS STRAIGHT!! It was actually the night before she turned 11 weeks–Daniel and I couldn’t believe it. She woke up smiling and in such a great mood; of course we were in a great mood as well! haha I have to say, overall, Andie is a pretty good sleeper (knock on wood). She typically does 4 – 5, sometimes 6, hour stretches at night now so I’ll only have to get up once. Every now and then she has her nights where it’s every 2 – 3 hours which I think is attributed to growth spurts. We had to buy her a swaddle with velcro because we obviously have a little karate kid who makes her way out of a swaddled blanket like a pro. I remember the first night we used that velcro swaddle, she slept 7 hours and we knew we had a winner! We’ll probably have to buy another one very soon because she’s reaching maximum capacity in this one!

IMG_2819 IMG_2827 IMG_2838 Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

One thought on “11 Weeks

Leave a Comment

