Introducing Andie Joy / Birth Story

photo 1

I’m happy to introduce our daughter, Andie Joy!! She finally entered the world on May 21st at 3:22 PM via all natural birth weighing in at 7 lbs 10 oz and measuring 19.5 inches long. We are so in love with this little girl!! πŸ™‚

I ended up giving birth the day before I was going to be 41 weeks. I went to my doctor’s appointment on Tuesday, May 20 and because I was “overdue” I was hooked up to a monitor for a non stress test. Its a routine procedure that most doctors like to do when you go past your due date just to make sure everything with the baby is still ok! After the NST the doctor checked my cervix and I was at 2.5 cm. Seeing as that coming weekend was Memorial Day weekend and the following week after the holiday I would be 42 weeks my doctor asked us if we would like to try and see if we could schedule an induction the following day…Daniel and I just looked at each other in shock haha It was weird going from “Wow, this baby is never going to come” to “How about we have a baby tomorrow?” We said yes and she applied prostaglandin to my cervix to help induce contractions and then we went home to wait and hear from the doctors office about the next day.

We never heard back from the office which was frustrating but at around 8:30 – 9 PM that night I started feeling contractions! They weren’t extremely painful but just uncomfortable and pretty inconsistent. Daniel and I didn’t really sleep much that night as you can imagine but when I finally fell asleep for an hour or so I woke up and the contractions were gone. I called our doctor in the morning and she said that the hospital didn’t have any room for a scheduled induction but since I was having contractions she told me to go to the hospital and she would make sure I stayed there until we had our baby! I’m kind of glad it happened that way because that morning we were able to take our time–get showers, eat breakfast (I had two pieces of toast with strawberry jam and some water), make sure everything was packed, and clean up a little so we wouldn’t have to worry about anything when we got home. We arrived at the hospital a little after 10 AM and were first seen in one of the triage rooms. Two nurses came in to ask me questions and then check my cervix–I ended up being 4 cm! WOO! After that they called my doctor and put in an IV. We also got in touch with all our family and let them know that I was being admitted to the hospital. From there we went to one of the labor & delivery rooms!! I initially didn’t want to have an IV because A) I am just a wimp when it comes to needles, B) I didn’t want something else to add to the discomfort I would already be feeling, C) I had an idea in my head that I would be walking around while laboring and would be pushing in a squat position or something similar and didn’t want an IV to hinder that. The more I thought about it though, I decided it was a good idea to have an IV…if I get really hot, etc. I tend to feel ill (especially being pregnant) and I thought it’d be best to avoid that at all costs considering!

When we arrived to the l&d room I was put in the bed and hooked up to a monitor to track baby’s heartrate and my contractions. I was told that my doctor would be getting to the hospital and breaking my water at 11:30 so we had about 45 minutes until then to relax! Daniel went down to the cafeteria to get something to eat/drink real quick before things got started and my parents got to the hospital around then as well. 11:30 came and my doctor arrived to break my water–that was such a strange experience! She used a tool that looked like a long crochet hook and within seconds there was a gush of warm liquid…gross. haha Luckily, that didn’t last too long and then the nurse told me I would soon be feeling some intense contractions. At that point I got a little more nervous but not too bad and that was only because I had no reference for what the pain would be like! About half an hour later I started getting the contractions and they were definitely intense. Daniel helped me by feeding my ice chips and pressing a cold washcloth on my face and neck–that was SO helpful and felt amazing because during the contractions I would get hot. By that point, Daniel, my parents, and Daniel’s dad & stepmom were all there–Emma, my mom, and Daniel all took turns sacrificing their hands so I could squeeze the life out of them during each contraction haha I wanted to give birth without pain meds so during the contractions I focused on that, how the pain was temporary, and soon Andie would be there. I breathed through each wave–long, deep breaths and that helped a lot. After about an hour and half the nurse checked my progress and I was already at 7.5 cm and I remember that motivating me because I felt like things were moving along. After another hour or so the contractions were getting longer with what seemed like no breaks between each wave and after a while I was feeling the urge to push! The nurse helped me start pushing by having me take a deep breath and pushing during her count to 10. Β After a couple sets of pushing she checked my cervix I was at 10 cm and ready to go–HALLELUJAH!! She wanted me to stop pushing until the doctor got there because she could see Andie’s head and I was having a really hard time doing that. Thankfully my doctor got there a few minutes later and I was able to really start pushing again! The doctor told Daniel to look and see Andie’s head and they said she had lots of hair…YAY! As I pushing her head out, I yelled twice and then before I knew it my beautiful, dark haired, 7 lb 10 oz, crying daughter was on my belly. It was the most surreal and amazing moment of my life and Daniel and I started sobbing as soon as we saw her. Daniel cut the cord while I stared at Andie, finding it hard to believe that this little human had grown to what she was inside of me for those short months. After the cord was cut they took her over to the warming table next to my bed where they started doing all the routine tests, etc. as Daniel looked on. During that time I got stitches and watched Andie from my bed. After the initial tests were done and they cleaned her up a little, I finally got to hold her! She was more beautiful than I ever could have imagined. I breastfed her for the first time 20 minutes after she was born and then after we were done and had some time just the 3 of us, all our family came in to meet Andie!! Everyone was so excited and our girl was loved on like crazy from all her grandparents, aunt, and uncles πŸ™‚

photo 1

photo 4

photo 4

photo 3 Processed with VSCOcam with f3 preset

My birth experience was definitely different than what I thought it would be like and not in a bad way. I had a great experience–the hospital and staff were awesome, my doctor was great, I didn’t labor long, I stuck with my plan of having no pain meds, and I had my husband and family with me to encourage me. The only things that strayed from my original vision were laboring positions. I was so adamant that I was going to be using the force of gravity to my advantage by pushing while squatting because that made so much sense to me but when the time came (very fast I might add), I was in no way interested in changing the position I was in nor do I believe I had the time to anyways! I also never imagined I’d have to get my water broken–it’s more than common for women not to have their water break on its own but I always thought I’d be at home (hopefully) or out somewhere and realize I was going to have a baby. haha I’m really glad I didn’t think of my “birth plan” in terms of being set in stone–I knew from the beginning that things may not turn out the way I wanted it to so I kept an open mind about everything and I believe that had a lot to do with keeping a positive attitude. I wouldn’t change the way Andie came into this world for anything–it was amazing. God truly has blessed us with a beautiful daughter and family that loves her unconditionally. Thank you Lord for the greatest gift!!

15 thoughts on “Introducing Andie Joy / Birth Story

  1. I absolutely love your birth story. I am less than two weeks from my due date, planning for a natural childbirth and I feel like all I’ve been reading or hearing lately is stories of similar birth plans that quickly switched to epidurals, inductions and c-sections. Thanks for posting this… it’s definitely what I needed to read. Also, congrats on being such a super woman. Sounds like you and your sweet baby kicked butt together.

    • Thank you! I’m so glad my story has helped you!! The thought of natural childbirth is definitely intimidating but just remember your body was made to do it–you got this!! Best of luck to you! πŸ™‚

  2. Pingback: Post Partum Observations | Baby Herring

  3. Hiii Andie! I totally stopped following you on WordPress…probably because I gave birth to my babygirl 2 days before you…Andie is such a cutie! Great to see so many cute pics of her πŸ™‚ I hope you’re both doing well…x Janske

Leave a Comment

