31 Weeks

IMG_2015

We’re down to single digits in our week countdown: 9 more weeks to go!! I cannot believe it….I want these next several weeks to both go by really fast so we can meet Andie but also to slow down just a little bit so we can get everything done that needs to be done before she gets here!

So for about 2 months or so, maybe a little less, I’ve been complaining about rib pain on my right side. It used to just bother me if I was sitting for a long period of time and leant to that side but it started getting worse. Now it is a very constant pain that bothers me the majority of the time – the only time it feels better is when I lay down on the side that doesn’t hurt. It kind of started worrying me so I called my OB and she told me to go to labor and delivery to have it checked out, just to be on the safe side. That in itself made me nervous! Daniel and I went and I was seen right away as opposed to if I were to have to go to the ER. They strapped on a heart rate monitor to my belly to listen to the baby’s heartbeat, put on a blood pressure cuff to check that every 15 minutes, and then put a monitor on my finger to monitor me. They wanted to observe for 1 hour so we watched HGTV and Seinfeld on the TV in our room to pass the time haha After the hour was up and they had asked me a bunch of questions they came to the conclusion that my pain is most likely caused by a strain in the muscle over the bottom part of my rib. Unfortunately, the only thing I can do is take Tylenol (which I don’t want to do because I’d need to take it every day) and use a heating pad. On the other hand, I’m so thankful it is nothing more serious and that the baby is perfectly healthy! If anything, my trip to the hospital gave me peace of mind and a chance to listen to Andie’s heart beat for an entire hour. She was moving around a lot too so it was fun to see how the heart rate correlated with her movement! For now, I’m just dealing with the pain–it hurts a lot at work because of all the walking around and bending over I have to do so that is definitely unfortunate. 😦

Besides that, I am feeling great! I do take an iron supplement every day per my doctor’s orders after having slightly lower iron levels in my last round of blood work and I’ve noticed a difference. I no longer have any of the weak spells I was having and I don’t feel as thirsty as I did before. Andie is growing super fast and she seems to be becoming more active as of late too! Now that she’s even bigger and stronger, it is even more fun to just sit and watch my belly move all over the place 🙂 Every time I have tried to get the movement on video, she stops moving but last night I was able to catch some of the movement – she was kicking like crazy!

IMG_2007 IMG_2010

Last weekend we went down to Charlotte, NC to celebrate my sister-in-law’s engagement with a surprise party (CONGRATS Sarah & Josh!!!) and on our last day there we decided to go to IKEA! We totally forgot that there was one in Charlotte so we were super excited. Neither of us had been to one in the states, just in Germany. We ended up getting the bookcase I wanted to convert into a dresser/changing table, legs to raise it off the ground, and some picture frame ledges we’ll be using as storage/display for books. They were out of stock on the drawers but I am actually making another IKEA trip at the end of the month with a friend to the one outside of DC so I’m hoping they’ll be there for me to purchase and complete this piece! I want to do the IKEA drawer inserts for the 4 inner cubes and use baskets or some kind of cute containers for the outer 4. Now that the bookcase is done, we are finished with furniture for the room–all that’s left is decoration! 🙂

We’re getting so so so excited about the day that Andie gets here: all her movement makes us feel so close to her, but I just know our love is going to quadruple several times over when she’s actually in our arms! At 31 weeks this girl is:

  • already the size of a pineapple
  • most likely weighing somewhere around 3 pounds. She will probably be gaining about a half a pound each week now as it gets closer to her big debut!
  • going through major brain, nerve, and eye development
  • Her eyes react to light
  • All 5 senses are in working order
  • her body temperature is now partially regulated by parts of her brain
  • bones are hardening, except for the skull

 

 

SYMPTOMS: Fatigue, backaches, soreness in my lower right ribs, shortness of breath

MATERNITY CLOTHES?: Yes, along with regular clothes!

STRETCH MARKS?: Nope!

SLEEP: It’s getting increasingly hard for me to get comfortable at night (a lot of tossing and turning–poor Daniel!) and I’ve been having to wake up to pee before I really want to be up!

BEST MOMENT THIS  PAST WEEK: Getting to hear our girl’s heartbeat for an entire hour even if it did mean a trip to the hospital to make it happen!

MISS ANYTHING?: Having no aches or pains!

BELLY BUTTON IN OR OUT?: It is barely an innie at this point – only thing I don’t like about my pregnant body! haha

WEDDING RING ON OR OFF?: On.

MOOD: In a nesting mood!

WHAT SIZE IS BABY?: Pineapple:)

CRAVINGS?: No unusual cravings although I have been going more for cheesy things lately!

4 thoughts on “31 Weeks

  1. Pingback: 32 Weeks | Baby Herring

Leave a Comment

