28 Weeks

IMG_1951

Oh my gosh ya’ll…..WE’VE REACHED THE THIRD TRIMESTER!!!! It is hard to believe that in just a few short months our baby girl will be here. I’m so so so excited for our daughter to arrive!! 🙂 I can’t wait to wear Andie to the store, go for walks on the beach, snuggle her, and be a family of three. Life will get even more awesome!

This past Tuesday I finally had to do the dreaded glucose test. Daniel went with me and once I was called back she handed me that little bottle of orange…drink and then told me I had to finish it within 5 minutes. It’s true what they say — it’s not good. haha I’ll be honest though, it wasn’t AS bad as I thought it was going to be. Plus, the worst part (for me at least) is getting blood drawn. UGH. My doctor’s office requested other blood tests on top of glucose so they drew about 4 vials aaaand I had to fast before this. Not a great combo! I felt ok right afterwards and I was fine walking out with Daniel to the car. We decided to go to Chipotle to get lunch so we started driving in that direction; once we got close I started feeling really lightheaded and hot – basically I was about to pass out. I told Daniel he had to stop in the closest parking lot and once parked Daniel blasted the A/C in my direction, gave me some water, and I reclined my seat. After a few minutes I started feeling better and Daniel was worried so he said we had to get some food in me so I stayed in the car while he ran in and we took it home. I felt SO much better after getting something to eat and I was able to just rest. I knew I wouldn’t walk out of that glucose test without a pass out/near pass out story!! SO please pray for me that I passed this test and I don’t have to go back and do the 3 hour 😦

After lunch, I rested on the couch and Daniel went upstairs to start putting together the new glider/ottoman his dad and stepmom bought for us off of our registry (THANK YOU AGAIN David & Emma!!)! It arrived right before we went on our little vacation to Nashville so we couldn’t put it together until Tuesday–I. LOVE. IT. It’s so comfy and will be perfect in the nursery 🙂 I know that chair will hold many many sweet memories in the near future and I can’t wait to start using it. For now, I just sit in it and envision the room and what it will be like when Andie gets here!

IMG_1948 IMG_1945

Also, Bandit approves which is really the ultimate test of course….

IMG_1949

What a cutie. After I picked him up off of the chair, I sat down and he jumped right back up and laid on my legs while I rocked. I foresee lots of nursing sessions where I am juggling Andie and Bandit….

Alright so as of 28 weeks Andie is: most likely weighing in around 2.5 pounds, blinking(!!!) and able to sense changes in light, breathing through mature lungs that would probably allow her to breathe on her own if she were born between now and her due date, and getting smoother skin that is less wrinkled due to her putting on more layers of fat!

SYMPTOMS: Some fatigue, backaches – my back hurts a lot after the work day is over or I’ve been walking around a lot…not fun. Besides those things, I’ve been feeling pretty good!

MATERNITY CLOTHES?: Yes, along with regular clothes!

STRETCH MARKS?: Nope!

SLEEP: It’s getting increasingly hard for me to get comfortable at night (a lot of tossing and turning–poor Daniel!) and I’ve been having to wake up to pee before I really want to be up!

BEST MOMENT THIS  PAST WEEK: Having a 4 day vacation in Nashville with my husband!! We had a blast!

MISS ANYTHING?: Having no aches or pains!

BELLY BUTTON IN OR OUT?: Still an innie but I’m thinking it might become an outie in the near future…

WEDDING RING ON OR OFF?: On.

MOOD: In a nesting mood!

WHAT SIZE IS BABY?: Eggplant :)

CRAVINGS?: No unusual cravings!

2 thoughts on “28 Weeks

  1. I don’t know how the stuff they use here at my doctor’s office in Germany compares to that which you drank, but I’ve had to take the 1-hr glucose test 2x now, and I actually really liked the stuff! (It was not flavored, really, just sugary…I took this test early, back in November, because my dad’s diabetic and they wanted to check me early.) Good thing you weren’t the one driving after taking the test! I didn’t have to fast for mine, but if I had, I would have had a similar reaction!

    I got myself a breastfeeding pillow that doubles as a body pillow last week, and let me tell you…it has made THE biggest difference in my night’s sleep! You should totally invest in one, seriously. It’s worth it. 🙂

    • I’m glad you had a better experience!! The glucose drink is notorious for being gross here but there are some women who say they didn’t mind it. Also, any time I have to get blood drawn (throughout my whole life) I HAVE to have someone with me because it usually doesn’t end well!

      I really may need to get a pregnancy pillow…I’ve seen one that all these blogs are raving about but it’s really expensive! I think the one made by Boppy is probably just as good and more affordable. I need something to save my back! Lol

Leave a Comment

