26 Weeks

IMG_1762

 Maternity pants are my best friends these days. Most of my regular pants fit and I can just get them closed with a hair tie but I have found myself gravitating towards maternity pants WAY more often – they are just sooo comfortable! Plus with this cold, the band that rises over my belly is another layer to keep me and baby warm 🙂

With this growing belly, I’ve been getting a lot more comments from strangers congratulating me, asking me the gender, etc. It’s so fun! Yesterday I was helping a guest with something and as I unzipped my sweater (I get a lot of those cold one minute, hot the next moments) her eyes got big and she said, “Oh my gosh, you’re pregnant! You look like you’re about 10 years old!)” HAHA. Thanks lady. I know I look younger than my age but it never occurred to me until then that some people might think I’m a pregnant high school girl or something! Right then I wanted to say, ” Nope, I’m actually going to be 25 in a couple months, I’m married and have been for almost 3 years!” How ridiculous that I felt so off-put that I wanted to spill my life story–I restrained myself and instead just thought, ya know, it’s none of her business. Who cares?!

IMG_1744

Bandit has also taken full advantage of my belly size. I posted this picture on Instagram over the weekend – he was just being so adorable! Lately, when he wants to snuggle with me or be close to me while he sleeps he will either curl up on my legs or get right on top of the baby bump and curl up as best he can. It’s really funny because he will knead my tummy before he curls up and after he lays down Andie will kick a few times in response! I like to think my babies are bonding already 🙂

We had our monthly checkup this past Monday and everything is going great! We got to hear Andie’s heartbeat and couldn’t believe how loud and strong it sounded- our little baby is growing! I have just now gained 10 pounds which is awesome; we’re growing together at the perfect rate. Before my next appointment I will be doing the dreaded glucose test 😦 Apparently, no matter what flavor you choose it is just plain disgusting so I am trying to mentally prepare myself to not only chug a gross, extra sugary orange drink but also to get blood drawn (which I hate and obsess over until its done with). At my actual next appointment with the doctor I will be getting my Rh immune globulin shot since I am Rh negative.  We also were able to schedule a bunch of appointments in advance so I’m set well into my third trimester (which I start in TWO WEEKS!! WHAAAT?!). Soon I will be going every 2 weeks to see the doctor–I can’t believe how close we are to May!! 🙂

At week 26, Andie has eyelashes (praying she gets her daddy’s lashes – they make me jealous) and will soon be opening her eyes! She’s also developing her immune system so she’ll be ready for the outside world. Her lungs are also practicing breathing movements so she’ll be ready to breathe in that first gulp of air when she comes out. Each development always sends me on a long line of wondering – what color will her eyes be? Will she eventually have to wear glasses like me? What will her voice sound like? So many things I want to know about our daughter!

SYMPTOMS: Some fatigue, backaches (unfortunately, my job does not help with this at all), mostly while sitting I am feeling pain under my ribs, heartburn has returned with a vengeance, some episodes of weakness (already ruled out BP, no other signs of anemia so doc is thinking I need to drink more water)

MATERNITY CLOTHES?: Yes, along with regular clothes!

STRETCH MARKS?: Nope!

SLEEP: Not going so hot!

BEST MOMENT THIS  PAST WEEK: Hearing Andie’s heartbeat again AND Daniel started clearing out the nursery so I can start nesting! 🙂 🙂

MISS ANYTHING?: Having no aches or pains!

BELLY BUTTON IN OR OUT?: Still an innie but I’m thinking it might become an outie in the near future…

WEDDING RING ON OR OFF?: On.

MOOD: Feeling excited and motivated!

WHAT SIZE IS BABY?: Head of lettuce :)

CRAVINGS?: Still just having salty or sweet days!

 

 

6 thoughts on “26 Weeks

  1. It’s hard to believe she is 2 pounds and I was just 4 little pounds when I was born. Love reading your progress! 3 more months!!

  2. I also can’t stand when people think I am younger than I am. At 31, I should learn to take it as a compliment. The other day a lady asked if everything I was buying was “to take back to school”. I laughed and said “No, but thank you for thinking that”. (I think). Congrats on all the milestones you and your baby girl are going through 🙂

    • Thank you! 🙂 Haha oh my goodness!! I know, I keep telling myself that my more than youthful appearance will pay of for me in my later years!

Leave a Comment

